How much are payroll taxes in california
Statewide and local rates
Please Note: This page may not always be up-to-date. Please do the research for your particular locality.
California employers must pay hourly workers at least the state minimum wage. which is currently $9.00 per hour (effective July 1, 2014). The statewide rate will increase to $10.00 per hour on January 1, 2016.
As of July 1, 2015, a statewide paid sick leave law goes into effect. It applies to any California employee who works 30 days or more in a year, including temporary and part-time workers.
Read further for minimum wage and sick leave laws that apply in certain California cities. Employers affected by both city and state requirements will have to implement the most generous benefits mandated under law.
Berkeley minimum wage is $10.00 per hour (effective October 1, 2014). It will increase to $11.00 per hour on October 1, 2015 and to $12.53 per hour on October 1, 2016. Family employees (parents, spouses, and children) are not covered by the city minimum wage. (They are covered by California minimum wage.)
Oakland minimum wage is $12.25 per hour (effective March 2, 2015). Oakland paid sick leave went into affect at the same time. Both the city minimum wage
and paid sick leave law apply to employees who work at least two hours per week. Employees accrue one hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked. For businesses with less than 10 employees, employees can accrue up to 40 hours. Employees of larger businesses can accrue up to 72 hours of sick leave.
Richmond minimum wage is $9.60 per hour (effective January 1, 2015). It will increase to $11.52 per hour on January 1, 2016 and to $12.30 per hour on January 1, 2017, with cost of living increases after that. Note that Richmond's minimum wage does not cover businesses with 10 or fewer employees (less than 800 hours of employee wages over a two week period). It also excludes workers under age 18 and those who receive tips.
San Francisco minimum wage is $12.25 per hour (effective May 1, 2015). Paid sick leave in San Francisco has been in effect since January 2007. The rules seem similar to the details of the Oakland ordinance mentioned above.
San Jose minimum wage is $10.30 per hour (effective January 1, 2015).
If you know of any other local minimum wage or sick leave laws, please let me know .
Last updated 25 June 2015Source: www.familychildcaretaxes.com