How to Get A Marriage License in North Carolina
Questions? E-mail me at firstname.lastname@example.org
You can also find everything Charlotte on Artie's Google Plus Profile: Artie Beaty
From birth, to college, to adulthood, Artie has called Charlotte home his entire life.
Continue Reading Below
NC law requires all applicants to show proof of a Social Security number, like a W-2 form, a payroll stub, or a statement from the Social Security Office stating their Social Security number. If a Social Security number has never been issued or the applicant is not eligible for a Social Security number, the applicant will be required to present a completed affidavit, signed and notarized, at the time of applying for the marriage license.
Continue Reading Below
The affidavit form is available in the Register of Deeds Office.
If the bride or groom has been divorced, they must know the month and year of the last divorce. If there has been a divorce within the last 60 days, the state requires a copy of the divorce decree signed by the judge.
A marriage license in North Carolina is valid for 60 days, and may not be used out of the state.
If you're in Charlotte, you'll head to the Mecklenburg County Courthouse :
720 East Fourth Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. / Monday to Friday
Closed for holidays.
are a few more requirement for marriage ceremonies in North Carolina:
- Marriage ceremonies can be either religious or civil.
- A religious ceremony is performed by an ordained minister.
- A civil ceremony is conducted by a magistrate
- Both civil and religious ceremonies require two witnesses
How much does a North Carolina marriage license cost?
Currently, the price is $60. Some counties allow you to pay by credit/debit card, some accept money orders, and all accept cash.
Do I have to be a North Carolina resident to get a marriage license in North Carolina?
You do not.
What do I do if I'm changing my name?
If you changing your legal name, you'll need a certified copy of your marriage certificate to change your driver's license and social security card. Certified copies are $10.
How old do you have to be to marry in North Carolina?
The current legal age of marriage in North Carolina is 18. 16 and 17 year olds can marry with parental consent, and 14 and 15 year olds can marry with a court order.
Is a blood test required for a North Carolina marriage license?
No. In previous years, a blood test and a physical were required. But that's no longer applicable.
Is there a waiting period for a marriage license in North Carolina?Source: charlotte.about.com