Credit portal




EcoGrid/EcoRaster Projects - LEED Certification

how to obtain leed certification

Leadership in Energy and Environmental or LEED is a point rating system used to evaluate the environmental performance of a building. The LEED Certification system has been implemented in both Canada and the US. The Canada Green Building Council (CaGBC) has released version 1.0 of Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design for new construction (LEED-NC) in Canada which is an adaptation of the US Green Building Councils (USGBC) Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design Green Building Rating System (LEEDTM).

The system is credit based, where projects earn points for environmentally friendly

actions taken during the building process.

The LEED certification system has five principal credit categories:

  • Sustainable Sites
  • Water Efficiency
  • Energy and Atmosphere
  • Materials and Resources
  • Indoor Environmental Quality

Each category is divided into credits. Credits are broken down into individual points. Additional points can be earned for innovation, exceptional environmental performance, and use of a LEED-accredited professional on the project team.


A project requires at least 26 points for certification. Silver, gold, and platinum levels are also available.

Category: Insurance

Similar articles: