Credit portal




Standard Special Certrificate (IL Type 10 - Grades K-12)

what is a type 10 teaching certificate

NIU provides three advanced certification programs leading to a special K-12 certificate.

Learning Behavior Specialist II

This certificate/endorsement program in the Department of Teaching and Learning is designed to meet the needs of candidates already holding LBS I, Vision, Deaf/Hard of Hearing, or Speech-Language Pathologist certification, or its equivalent from another state, and who are seeking advanced knowledge and experience for continued practice and leadership in their classrooms and schools. Completion of department and appropriate requirements leads to certification by entitlement as a learning behavior specialist II. There are four Certificate of Graduate Study Programs (CGS): Curriculum Adaptation Specialist, Multiple Disabilities Specialist, Behavior Intervention Specialist and Assistive Technology Specialist.

Candidates may enroll as a student-at-large or as part of a M.S. Ed. in Special Education with a specialization in Advanced Special Education Practice.

For additional information on these programs, contact the advisor . 

Library Information Specialist - Persons holding a baccalaureate degree may complete requirements for the State of Illinois Special (K-12) Library Information Specialist Certificate through the Department of Educational Technology, Research and Assessment as part of the degree program for the M.S.Ed. in Instructional Technology with a Library Information Specialist concentration. This program meets the Illinois State Board of Education and the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education standards for

Library Information Specialist. Individuals interested in becoming a Library Information Specialist (Type 10 certificate or endorsement) should contact the advisor for details.

Reading Specialist - Type 10  K-12 Reading Specialist Certificate - A candidate wishing to earn the Type 10. K-12 Reading Specialist Certification through the entitlement program at NIU must enroll in the program leading to the M.S.Ed. in Literacy Education with a focus on reading. The program is delivered through a cohort model. Cohorts are started on a rotation system at the main NIU campus in DeKalb, at the NIU regional centers (Hoffman Estates, Naperville, and Rockford), and at the University Center of Lake County in Grayslake.

The program of studies is comprised of eleven courses )33 semester credits) of which nine courses (27 semester credits) are dedicated to the study of a theory, research, and best practice of reading pedagogy.  Candidates are expected to demonstrate the knowledge, competencies, and dispositions specified in the Standards for Reading professionals issued by the International Reading Association.  Candidates who have not completed an undergraduate course in reading as well as a course in children's literature or young adult literature must do so a deficiency requirement.

For additional information on these programs, contact the relevant program advisor.

The above programs require prior certification as a teacher.

Category: Insurance

Similar articles: