Credit portal




What is accredited certification?

Accreditation verifies the certification body/registrar’s competence. To fulfill the accreditation criteria, an accrediting authority assesses the certification body/registrar. This is to verify that the certification body/registrar complies with existing requirements. This is the authorities’ way of auditing the auditors, such as certification bodies like DNV GL - Business Assurance.

What is third party accredited certification?

Accredited certification of management systems is used to demonstrate compliance to a standard. Third party certification bodies/registrars are auditing organizations that provide auditing services to companies that wish to obtain certification to specific standards.

Risk Based Certification™ - the Journey

Risk Based Certification is DNV GL - Business Assurance’ exclusive approach to all management system certification. Knowing where to focus improvement efforts is critical to being in control of risk elements that can threaten your business success. With our Risk Based Certification approach, the certification process is tailored to evaluate your select business risks and provides a tool for an improvement journey.

Initial certification

1. Input dialogue

To tailor the audit, we need to know what is important to your organization. We have to get a clear understanding of your business strategy and conditions that affect your ability to reach said strategy. Subsequently 1-3 focus areas on which the audit will focus are identified. The focus areas should be linked to the management system and reflect the risks or opportunities that are most important to you. Agreeing on focus areas is a collaborative effort, and our auditors can help suggest focus areas if necessary. Top management should be involved at this stage.

  • To check your readiness for the certification audit, i.e. to review your manual, check procedures, to see your facilities, and briefly check the implementation of your management system.
  • To review focus area input and agree on three to five particular focus

    areas upon which the audit will focus.

Based on this, the scope and audit plan are agreed upon.

4. Certification audit

The certification audit consists of informal interviews, examinations, and observations of the system in operation. During this process, we assess your management system’s degree of compliance with the requirements of the elected standard and performance in identified focus areas. When found compliant, we issue the certificate. Findings related to the focus areas will be presented at the end of the audit in a closing meeting and included in the audit report. At the closing meeting, you can also provide input regarding the focus areas, i.e. should any new focus area(s) be included in future audits.

  • Maintenance of certificate

At this stage you have completed the initial certification and can move on to maintenance of your certification.

5. Periodic audits

Each issued certificate has a three-year life period. Upon certification, we will create a periodic audit schedule for regular audits over the three-year period. These audits confirm your company’s on-going compliance with specified requirements of the standard while re-evaluating performance in focus areas. At least one periodic audit per year is required.

After the three years are up, your certification will be extended through a re-certification audit.

Learn more by reading why partner with DNV GL - Business Assurance.

Suspension or withdrawal of certificates

What happens if an organization fails to maintain their management system and certification?

DNV GL - Business Assurance has a transparent procedure for suspension or withdrawal of certificates. This is applicable in situations where an organization persistently and seriously fails to maintain compliance with the management system standard or due to other situations, as defined in the procedure for suspension and withdrawal of certificates.

Category: Insurance

Similar articles: