Credit portal




Just who are ITIL V3 certification and accreditation for?

what is itil v3 certification

Submitted by skeptic on Wed, 2012-05-02 03:02

Share this post with logoDigg logoGoogle logoLinkedIn logoReddit logoStumbleUpon logoFavorite on Technorati logoYahoo logo

APMG have released ITIL Master certification. The ITIL certification edifice grows higher and heavier. As with accreditation (prISM), I'm left wondering who they build these huge structures for.

Things I like about ITIL Master certification:

  • They've acknowledged that it requires "written submission and candidate interview": multi-choice isn't going to cut it (nor should it for ITIL Expert but that's another debate)
  • It tests the higher levels of learning: "the candidate must be able to explain and justify how they selected and individually applied a range of knowledge, principles, methods and techniques"
  • A requirement is "Have worked in IT service management for at least five years in leadership, managerial, or higher management advisory levels"


It's all a bit much. I commented some time ago that either (a) the priSM institute is over-the-top for professional accreditation of just ITSM or (b) itSMF is the wrong owner for an all-of-IT accreditation. prISM is just off the scale. An ISACA-style accreditation would have made more sense. I feel the same way looking at the current ITIL certification scheme. Achieving ITIL Expert certification looks to me to be a poor investment for most people. going for ITIL Master looks just nutty. Only a tiny number of people can justify being that deeply certified in one subject unless - as i said regarding prISM - you are a major consulting vendor who wants to differentiate for the Fortune 500 market and to justify the nose-bleed fees you sell your top consultants for. Who the hell else is it all for?

What's more, ITIL V3 certification assumes you aim to

do it all. The pathway through the exams is structured as if you want to climb the pyramid to ITIL Expert and now ITIL Master certification. How about this use case? Personally I just want to do the Managing Across the Lifecycle course on its own because I am a generalist - it is the logical next step for me after Foundation. But I can't: I'm not allowed to without first doing the requisite number of Intermediate points.

The Official ITIL Accreditor is pleased to announce the completion of the ITIL Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) qualification review. Candidates studying in English for the MALC qualification can use the new guidance and take an updated version of the examination from today.

This review was conducted. to ensure the qualification meets its intent as the final stage to ITIL Expert certification.

The new MALC qualification. has a higher level of difficulty than the Intermediate qualifications. [Oooh don't you wish you had got around to it sooner eh?]

Maggie Kneller, MALC project manager, said: ". It has been our aim to produce a MALC syllabus and examination which is deserving of its position as the final 'capstone' leading to the prestigious ITIL Expert certification.”

Clearly MALC is seen solely as a gateway qualification to ITIL Expert and Master, not an end in its own right.

If you want narrow specialisation, you can do one of the Intermediate certifications. If you want entry to the exclusive ITSM Brethren you can do Expert and Master. But if you just want to certify a higher general knowledge of ITIL, you can't do MALC: you have to start collecting the set of badges.

I've argued elsewhere that the ITIL books are widely applicable and useful, but when it comes to ITIL certification (Master) and accreditation (prISM), I really don't think they have much relevance to the world's millions of ITSM practitioners.

Category: Insurance

Similar articles: