Credit portal




What is prince2 certification

what is prince2 certification

PRINCE2® Qualifications

  • Qualification levels
  • Route to certification
  • Taking the exams
  • Examination languages

The PRINCE2® qualification scheme has been developed to offer three levels of qualification, Foundation, Practitioner and Professional.

Download the PRINCE2 syllabus (817KB) for more information about the PRINCE2 qualifications.

AXELOS has also developed the PRINCE2 Agile™ qualification to enable you to incorporate the project management processes and methods of PRINCE2 with agile concepts to offer a complete agile project management solution.

The purpose of the Practitioner qualification is to confirm whether the candidate has achieved sufficient understanding of how to apply and tailor PRINCE2 in a scenario situation. A successful Practitioner candidate should, with suitable direction, be able to start applying the method to a real project but may not be sufficiently skilled to do this appropriately for all situations. Their individual project management expertise, complexity of the project and the support provided for the use of PRINCE2 in their work environment will all be factors that impact what the Practitioner can achieve.

Target Audience

This qualification is aimed at Project Managers and aspiring Project Managers. It is also relevant to other key staff involved in the design, development and delivery of projects, including: Project Board members (e.g. Senior Responsible Owners), Team Managers (e.g. Product Delivery Managers), Project Assurance (e.g. Business Change Analysts), Project Support (e.g. Project and Programme Office personnel) and operational line managers/staff.

In order to sit the PRINCE2 Practitioner examination you must provide proof of having passed one of the following:

  • PRINCE2 Foundation
  • Project Management Professional (PMP)
  • Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)
  • IPMA Level A® (Certified Projects Director)
  • IPMA Level B® (Certified Senior Project Manager)
  • IPMA Level C® (Certified Project Manager)
  • IPMA Level D® (Certified Project Management Associate)

Examination Format

  • Objective testing
  • Eight questions - 10 question items per question, each worth one mark
  • 44 marks or more required to pass (out of 80 available) - 55%
  • Two-and-a-half hours’ (150 minutes) duration, no additional reading time
  • Open book exam (official PRINCE2 manual only).

AXELOS has developed PRINCE2 Agile as a single-tier qualification which practitioners can take once they have passed their PRINCE2 Foundation and Practitioner examinations.


enables practitioners to apply the project management principles of PRINCE2 whilst combining the flexibility and responsiveness of agile concepts such as Scrum and Kanban. The qualification is aimed at all individuals and organizations involved with project, product and programme delivery and support.

The PRINCE2 Professional qualification is the next level for PRINCE2 Practitioners. This level will test your ability to manage a non-complex PRINCE2 project across all aspects of the project lifecycle.

The re-registration qualification enables you to demonstrate your commitment to continuing professional development and the currency of your knowledge of PRINCE2 to employers, peers and colleagues. The PRINCE2 Re-registration exam comprises an exam paper set at the same standard as the Practitioner examination and is based on the 2009 PRINCE2 Manual.

  • Objective testing
  • Three questions - 10 items per question, each worth one mark
  • 17 marks or more required to pass (out of 30 available) - 55%
  • One hour’s (60 minutes) duration, no additional reading time
  • Open book exam (official PRINCE2 manual only).

You must pass the Foundation examination before the Practitioner examination, either on the same day or separately.

If you have previously passed the Foundation examination or one of the qualifications approved as prior learning, you qualify to sit the Practitioner examination without needing to re-sit the Foundation.

If you sit the Foundation exam only, and pass, you will receive a Foundation examination certificate. However, if you sit both the Foundation and Practitioner exam on the same day, and pass both, you will receive a Practitioner examination certificate only.

You must also pass the Foundation, or an approved prior learning qualification, and the Practitioner examinations before you can sit the PRINCE2 Agile examination .

There are two routes towards obtaining the PRINCE2 qualifications - you can sit the exams at the end of a training course with an Accredited Training Organization (ATO) or Accredited Trainer, or study privately and then book the exam without a training course via one of the PRINCE2 Examination Institutes .

For details of training courses, use our search facility to locate a training provider.

Sample Papers

Practice for your PRINCE2 exams by testing yourself with these Sample Papers .

The PRINCE2 Foundation, Practitioner and Practitioner Re-registration examinations are available in the following languages:

Category: Insurance

Similar articles: