How much for birth certificate
Best Answer: It is always less expensive to purchase a birth certificate directly from the state or county Department of Vital Records in the state in which you were born than to purchase a birth certificate through Vitalcheck.com, as they are a service that charges an extra free to get the certificate from the state for you. Plus it takes extra processing time when you order through Vitachek.
If you were born in Michigan, you can order a birth certificate directly for the Department of Community Health:
Unfortunately, to order a birth certificate online from Michigan you must use Vitacheck, Michigan’s online service provider.
Processing time is 1-2 business days for a United Parcel Service (UPS) overnite delivery and 2 weeks for a regular online request plus mail time back to the customer. A $10.00 RUSH fee will be charged for each online order, in addition to VitalChek's $8.50 credit card handling charge.
VitalChek is Michigan Vital Records only authorized online service provider. If you should experience problems with the online ordering, please call VitalChek at 1-800-669-8312 for assistance. That number will be answered from 7:00 am - 7:00 pm, Monday-Friday, except for recognized holidays.
NOTE: Only those individuals named
on a Michigan birth certificate are eligible to electronically request and receive the document.
MCL 333.2894 Prohibited conduct. (1) A person shall not: (b) Wilfully and knowingly make a false statement in a vital record or report required to be filed under this code, or in an application for an amendment or for a certified copy of a vital record.
MCL 333.2898 Violation; penalty. A person who violates section 2894 or 2895 is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or both. http://www.michigan.gov/mdch/0,1607,7-13.
ORDER A BIRTH RECORD BY MAIL
Regular processing time for mail-in orders is 5 weeks and rush processing is 3 weeks. This includes mail time and receipting your payment in our Accounting Dept. If you have questions, please call our Eligibility Unit at 517-335-8666. http://www.michigan.gov/mdch/0,1607,7-13.
BIRTH RECORD REQUEST FEES
3-Yr Search (Non-Refundable) One Certified Copy $26.00
Search (Non-Refundable) Senior Citizen – Age 65+ $ 7.00
_________ Additional Certified Copies (Each) $ 12.00
EXPEDITED “RUSH” SERVICE (Additional) $ 10.00
* Additional year search when exact date unknown.
Each additional year $12.00. Specify which additional
years to search: ____________________________Source: answers.yahoo.com