Illinois Payday Loan
I have three payday loans in Illinois that I can't repay. What are my rights?
Payday loans, also called "cash advance loans," "check advance loans," or "deferred deposit check loans," are a frequent pitfall for consumers. A fee anywhere from $15-$30 per $100 borrowed is charged for an average loan of $300. The borrower will give the lender a post-dated check, which the lender later uses to electronically transfer a payment or the entire balance of the loan from the borrowers account.
An especially insidious practice is to withdraw a partial payment from the account as a "customer service." This partial payment becomes a perpetual installment that continues despite the borrowers' best efforts to halt it.
With rates so high and the term of the loan so short there is no wonder that a very high percentage of these loans are rolled over by the borrower again and again so that the accumulated fees equal an effective annualized interest rate of 390% to 780% APR depending on the number of times the principal is rolled.
One slightly light-hearted fact regarding payday loans: Wikipedia.org, the leading online encyclopedia, list payday lending under Loan Shark. stating that "if the defining characteristics of loan sharking are high interest rates and a credit product that traps debtors, then the label certainly applies."
The Federal Trade Commission offers a great Web page regarding payday loan alternatives .
Payday loans & Illinois consumer rights
In 2005, the Illinois General Assembly put into law Public Act 094-0013: Payday Loan Reform Act. which regulates payday loan companies and the terms these lenders can offer consumers in Illinois. Illinois offers a one-page guide to payday loans .
Consumers have the following rights and protections for payday loans under Illinois law:
- Consumers cannot be charged fees of more than $15.50 per $100 borrowed
- Consumers have the right to a full disclosure of all fees and the annual percentage rate (APR)
- Consumers cannot borrow more than $1000 or 25% of their gross monthly income, whichever is less
- Consumers can have no more than two payday loans at a time
- Consumers can request a repayment plan after 35 days of outstanding debt. Once in the repayment plan the consumer may not be charged interest, finance charges, or any other fees
- A lender may not sue a consumer until 28 days after the loan was due or the repayment plan ended
- A lender may not take an interest in a consumer's personal property
- A lender may not charge the consumer for attorney's fees or court costs to collect the debt
- A rollover of a payday loan is prohibited
- Members of the military have additional protection
- Consumers may cancel a wage assignment at any time by contacting the lender
- Consumers may cancel a payday loan at no cost if the consumer cancels the loan by the end of the second business day immediately following the day the loan was executed
Repaying an Illinois payday loan
Illinois consumers may have two payday loans at any one time. Therefore, if your spouse has three payday loans, the payday lender who made the third payday loan was in violation of Illinois law when it executed the third loan.
If the payday loans are 35 days or more in age, your spouse has the right to enter into a payment plan. Under Illinois law, once your spouse is in the repayment plan your spouse may not be charged interest, finance charges, or any other fees. Therefore, if your spouse has payday loans, the payday lender must allow your spouse to enter into a payment plan and not be charged any fees.Source: www.bills.com
Category: Payday loans