How much is ct sales tax
A. There is only a statewide sales & use tax. There are no additional sales taxes imposed by local jurisdictions in Connecticut. The statewide rate of 6.35% applies to the retail sale, lease, or rental of most goods and taxable services. However, there are exceptions:
- The tax on the rental or leasing of a passenger motor vehicle for a period of 30 consecutive calendar days or less is 9.35%. A tax rate of 7.75% applies to the following: the sale for more than $50,000 of most motor vehicles, the sale for more than $5,000 of jewelry (whether real or imitation), the sale for more than $1,000 of an article of clothing or footwear intended to be worn on or about the human body, a handbag, luggage, umbrella, wallet or watch. The sales and use tax rate for the sale of computer and data processing services is 1% and web design services will become taxable at 1% on or after October 1, 2015. For more
information on the taxation of computer services, please review Policy Statement 2006(8) . Sales and Use Taxes on Computer-Related Services and Sales of Tangible Personal Property.
The sales and use tax rate is 4 1/2% on the sale of motor vehicle to a nonresident member, or a member and his or her spouse jointly, of the armed forces of the United States stationed on full-time active duty in Connecticut. For more information see Policy Statement 2001(4) . Sales of Motor Vehicles to Nonresident Military Personnel and Joint Sales of Motor Vehicles to Nonresident Military Personnel and Their Spouses.
This answer is intended to provide general information concerning a frequently asked question about a current position, policy, or practice associated with the taxes administered by the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services. It may include an informal interpretation of Connecticut tax law by the Department of Revenue Services (DRS). However, it is not intended to serve as a legal ruling.Source: askdrs.ct.gov