How to get an oklahoma tax id
Can conference registration be prepaid?
Is the University of Oklahoma exempt from Oklahoma sales tax?
Yes, the University is exempt from sales tax by State Statute Title 68, O.S. 1996, Section 1356.
Is the University of Oklahoma exempt from federal income tax?
Yes, the University is exempt from federal income tax under Section 115(a) of the Internal Revenue Code.
What is the Federal Employer’s Identification Number (FEIN) for the University of Oklahoma?
The Federal Employer’s Identification Number (FEIN) for the University is 73-6017987.
What is the Federal Tax Exemption Number for the University of Oklahoma?
The Federal Tax Exemption Number for the University is 73-73-0163K
What is the Federal Excise Tax Exemption Number for the University of Oklahoma?
The Federal Excise Tax Exemption Number for the University is A 145388.
What types of checks does Financial Services replace/reissue?
Financial Services is responsible for replacing all University checks, except for checks issued by the OU Foundation or the Bursar's Office.
How long does it take for a check to be replaced/reissued?
Once the affidavit or stale-dated check is returned to Financial Services, University checks will be replaced within 2 to 3 days. State warrants are reissued by the Office of State Finance and take approximately 10 to 15 working days
How long after the issue date can a check/warrant be cashed?
University checks and state issued warrants may be cashed up to ninety days after issuance. After 90 days, checks are stale-dated and cannot be cashed.
Return the check to Financial Services with instructions to replace the check/warrant and who to contact or return the new check to when replacement is available. If the check is not available, contact Financial Services (5-3021) to obtain the appropriate forms.
How do I get a lost, stolen, or destroyed check replaced?
To get a lost check replaced, you must complete an affidavit stating that the check is lost. The affidavit requires the signature of either the individual payee or company representative and must be notarized. Completed affidavits for University issued checks only, may be faxed to Financial Services at 325-7487. On state issued warrants (miscellaneous claims, travel reimbursements, and payroll warrants) original signatures and notary is required.
Can Financial Services tell me if a particular check or warrant has been cashed?
Yes, if you have the transaction identification number on your statement of account, the transaction date and amount of the check, Financial Services can tell if the check has been cashed and the date on which it cleared the bank.
A stop payment is placed when a check/warrant is reported lost or destroyed and an affidavit has been completed and returned to Financial Services. A stop payment will be immediately placed on a check reported stolen in order to ensure against a forged endorsement. If a check is found after a stop payment has been issued, that check cannot be cashed and should be returned to Financial Services for replacement.
Is pre-authorization for travel to out of state locations required?
Yes. Prior to purchasing airline tickets or traveling to out of state locations, University faculty, staff, students, and non-university employees traveling on University funds, including sponsored program agreements and agency special accounts, must receive prior approval from his or her appropriate supervisor or appointed designee with budgetary authority (e.g. Department Head, Vice President, Chair, Principal Investigator, Dean, Provost, President). The approval will state the nature of University business requiring the travel. Documentation of the approval shall be maintained in the departmental files of the traveler and/or the funding account sponsor and shall
be subject to compliance review by Internal Auditing.
Who must sign for claim approval on the State of Oklahoma Travel Voucher?
Claim approval should be signed by the department sponsor or his designee. If the department sponsor is the traveler, approval must be by a designee with budgetary authority.
A paid receipt is required. It can be a copy of any of the following: your name tag, a canceled check-front and back, a bank statement or a credit card statement.
How do I adjust my per diem if meals are provided while on University business?
You deduct 1/4 of the per diem rate that is being claimed per meal. (Example: per diem rate $46.00/4 quarters = 11.50 deduct $11.50 per meal.
Can I be reimbursed for the cost of a rental car when traveling on University business?
Vehicle rental, other than University vehicles, is not reimbursable for in-state travel. (Exceptions are reimbursements through the OU Foundation or a grant or contract.) Out-of-state car rental reimbursement must be justified on the travel claim. The only insurance that is recommended, and will be reimbursed on a rental car, is LDW (Loss damage waiver) or CDW (Collision damage waiver).
What type of receipt must be provided from the hotel?
A detailed receipt is required (i.e. the receipt must show payment to credit card or -0- balance) Most zip out or express check out systems do not provide you with a paid receipt and therefore do not meet the requirements of a paid receipt.
What items require paid receipts to be attached to my travel claim?
A receipt is required for any miscellaneous expense or one way taxi fare that is $25.00 or more. A receipt is required for all gasoline expenses to be reimbursed as a miscellaneous expense.
Can a University department pay for food and lodging direct in connection with University travel?
Yes, provided the event is conducted or sponsored by the University, and a formal notice or announcement for the University to the attending employees or participants is attached as supporting documentation, and the amount does not exceed $5,000. The following documentation must be submitted with the request for payment: a description of the travel objective, reference to the statutory authority (O.S. 74, subsection 500.2), a separate accounting of the contracted daily cost of food and lodging, as this amount cannot exceed the total daily rate allowed by the State Travel Reimbursement Act, and a list of attending individuals and their social security numbers. The payment cannot be prepaid.
Can a University department pay for food and lodging direct if the amount is over $5,000 in connection with University travel?
If the cost of the event exceeds $5,000, the department must submit a requisition to Purchasing prior to entering travel status that includes the following documentation: a description of the travel objective, reference to the statutory authority (O.S. 74, subsection 500.2), a separate accounting of the contracted daily cost of food and lodging as this amount cannot exceed the total daily rate allowed by the State Travel Reimbursement Act, and a list of attending individuals and their social security numbers. These types of expenses cannot be prepaid.
Yes, if the registration material clearly indicates that the sponsoring organization will not accept a purchase order or departmental order, requires payment with the submittal of the registration material, requires payment by a certain date to guarantee a registration, or offers a substantial discount if the registration fee is paid prior to the conference/workshop/meeting, etc. Registrations paid prior to the conference may be paid utilizing the small dollar purchase order process.Source: www.ou.edu