Credit portal




What are county taxes used for

Did You Know:

215 N. Main Street, Suite 224

Waynesville, NC 28786

Welcome to the Haywood County Tax Office web pages. The Tax Office is divided into three sections:

Assessment Division

The Assessment Division is responsible for maintaining records of real and personal property ownership for use in determining ad valorem taxation. This information is collected and used each year. The listing period begins in January. Real property is permanently listed and does not require the owner to re-list every year. Personal property such as boats, farm machinery, campers, mobile homes and other business property must be listed every year in January. The tax rate for each fiscal year is usually set in May or June by the Haywood County Board of Commissioners. Tax bills are usually mailed in August or September each year.

The Real Property Appraisal Office is part of the Assessment Division and is

responsible for the appraisal of all real property in Haywood County. There are 48,876 parcels of real property in the county. North Carolina Statute 105-286 requires that all real property, which includes land and buildings, be revalued for tax purposes at least every eight years or sooner if adopted by the Board of Commissioners. Haywood County was last revalued in 2011.

Business Property Tax Information:

Personal Property Tax Information

Collections Division

The Collection Division is responsible for collecting all county real estate taxes and for collecting motor vehicle taxes for the county as well as the towns of Canton, Clyde, Maggie Valley and Waynesville. In accordance with North Carolina General Statutes, the collector has authority to use the following means to collect delinquent taxes: Garnishment of wages, attachment of funds such as bank accounts or money owed to the taxpayer, levy on personal property and foreclosure of real estate.

Category: Taxes

Similar articles: